Disappointment or Contentment?

clouds-10775817

I was thinking of naming this blog post Disappointment, but then I thought that maybe it should be called Contentment. Really the choice is up to the individual. Will you be disappointed or will you be content?

We will all have disappointments in life, sometimes little ones, sometimes big ones. How we deal with the disappointments is what makes the difference. As a Christian I know that Romans 8:28 is true. It says “And we know that all things work together for good to them that love God, to them that are the called according to his purpose.” Even though I may have a disappointment, I know that God is in control and He knows what is best for me and He is working it out for my good. Often times I never know what the “good” is, and often times I grumble and complain that I was disappointed. But I do have the reminder of Romans 8:28 if I choose to focus on that fact.

Some friends of ours recently had a big disappointment; something that would affect their lives and the lives of others. I know they must have felt hurt and disappointed, but they are displaying an attitude of contentment. What a wonderful Christian testimony.

Another verse that talks about being content is Philippians 4:11. “Not that I speak in respect of want: for I have learned, in whatever state I am, therewith to be content.” Good words to live by.

Have you heard the expression: “Every cloud has a silver lining”? When you are disappointed by something in life, try poking your head through the cloud and looking for the silver lining. Or better yet, trust in God and in His knowing what is best for you.

About Norma Downing

Christian romance author Norma Downing has been writing for years. She writes both contemporary and historical. She currently has a contract with CrossLink Publishing for her first novel, A Promise Made, set in Kansas in 1899.
This entry was posted in contentment and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

