Selfishness

I was thinking about what to blog about today. Some recent events got me to thinking about how selfish we have become as a society and as individuals. I tried to find a quote about selfishness but I couldn’t find one.

Selfishness is thinking of one’s self above all others. Thinking you are special, or someone owes you something just because of who you are or because of the circumstances of your life. Selfishness is a sin and a big cause of the problems in society today.

One example that comes to mind is divorce. I believe that a majority of divorces occur because of selfishness. Things aren’t going the way a person wants, their spouse isn’t treating them the way they deserve to be treated or they just don’t “feel the love” anymore. Love is a verb, not a noun. It takes work. (But that sounds like a topic for another blog. Back to selfishness.) It just comes down to things are not the way they want them to be so they are just going to quit. It’s too hard to work at the relationship and they want it easy because they are selfish.

Abortion is another ill of society that has it’s roots in selfishness. The pregnancy is a “problem”, or they “just aren’t ready for a child”. So it’s better to end a child’s life than to be responsible and selfless? I could go on and on about this topic.

The recent events with the people looting because there was a glitch with the food stamp program and people suddenly had larger than normal balances on their cards or no balance, is a perfect example of selfishness. They were only thinking of themselves and what they could get or what they were owed. Pure selfishness.

Lest you think I am saying I never have selfish thoughts or actions, I assure you I do. I am not perfect, but I try to think of other people, and often times I fail. But I can see that it is wrong and I can see it in myself and others. It makes me sad. People should try to take a step back and think of others before themselves. Our world would be a better place if people would do that.

About Norma Downing

Christian romance author Norma Downing has been writing for years. She writes both contemporary and historical. She currently has a contract with CrossLink Publishing for her first novel, A Promise Made, set in Kansas in 1899.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

