Patriotism

“True patriotism hates injustice in its own land more than anywhere else.” Clarence Darrow

When I was a child I was very patriotic. I loved to sing the songs about our great country, like the “Star Spangled Banner.” I loved the Independence Day celebrations, and seeing our flag flying.

Lately, not so much. I am not so proud of our country anymore. It is hard to stay patriotic when you see the country going downhill right before your eyes. Our freedoms are being taken away, and our government is becoming more and more corrupt. Our Constitution is being trampled upon and worse yet, ignored. It makes me sad and not very proud to be an American.

Someone I know recently went on vacation out of the country. When she returned home she put on her Facebook status something about being back in the USA. My first thought was “Yes, back in the best country in the world.” But then I wasn’t really sure I felt that way anymore.

Am I becoming less patriotic? I’m not sure. I still love what our country was founded on and I still want this country to be the best it can be. But I am a little pessimistic that it can ever be that way again.

So I guess if I go with the quote I am still patriotic. I just hate seeing the injustices that are rampant in our country. If our founding fathers saw what is happening they would be saddened as well. I can only pray that God will straighten things out, but not my will but His will be done.

About Norma Downing

Christian romance author Norma Downing has been writing for years. She writes both contemporary and historical. She currently has a contract with CrossLink Publishing for her first novel, A Promise Made, set in Kansas in 1899.
This entry was posted in patriotic and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Patriotism

  1. Janice says:

    I feel the exact same way!

Leave a Reply

