Egg Hunt, It’s not just for Easter anymore!

We have chickens (as some of you know from a previous post.) We have 5 hens and a rooster (yes, he is still around and he has been behaving lately, but his days are still numbered.)

Not too many weeks ago the hens started to lay eggs. These are free range hens and they pretty much wander the yard. And they have decided it is too boring to lay the eggs in the nice nest boxes in the nice chicken house that was built especially for them.

So everyday my daughter and I get to go on an egg hunt. We have to find those spots that the chickens have decided is “the spot” for their egg to be laid. One found a nice spot under the tarp that was covering the old push mower. That spot was good for a couple of days and then she abandoned it. One or two lay their eggs in the barn in front of the goat milking table. Okay, I can handle that. It’s out of the way and very easy to retrieve the eggs.

The last few days two hens have decided that the goat hay shed is a good spot. Well, it’s not! The goats go in there to eat hay and could easily step on or lay on the eggs. For some reason the goats don’t respect the fact that I want the eggs whole.

We have one hen that I call “Rover”. She lays her egg in the dog house almost everyday. It is a nice cozy place and I can understand why she likes it, but what she doesn’t realize is…DOGS LIKE TO EAT EGGS. So I have to make sure I let the dogs out of their pen and close the gate before Rover wants to go in there and to lay the egg. Call me selfish, but I don’t want to share my eggs with the dogs. One day Rover was yelling…um…clucking at the dogs to get out of the pen so she could lay her egg.

Today I went out to look for the eggs in the usual spots. I found one in the barn, got Rover’s egg out of the doghouse. Checked the goat’s hay shed, no egg. I checked the other spot by the barn that usually has an egg in it, it was empty as well. Guess where I found an egg. In the CHICKEN house. Well, that’s unusual. 😉

About Norma Downing

Christian romance author Norma Downing has been writing for years. She writes both contemporary and historical. She currently has a contract with CrossLink Publishing for her first novel, A Promise Made, set in Kansas in 1899.
This entry was posted in chickens, farm, goat, goats and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

