Dreams

All our dreams can come true, if we have the courage to pursue them.

–Walt Disney

I had a dream. That dream was write a novel and have it published. That dream has come true! My book A Promise Made has been published and is coming out this week.

Dreams can come true if we are willing to work. I’m not saying that all dreams can come true. They have to be realistic dreams. If your dream is to walk on the moon…well, probably not going to happen. That is not a realistic dream. Could it happen? Yes, it is physically possible. It has been done before but not likely.

Trying to get your dream to come true can be hard work. I didn’t just write a manuscript and send it to a publisher and they immediately accepted it and wanted to publish it. Nope, it wasn’t that easy. I sent it and other manuscripts to multiple publishers and got many rejections. I spent money on going to conferences and trying to learn to be a better writer.

I think writing is fun and I love doing it. Sending it out there to be critiqued and criticized and rejected is not so much fun. When I write a story I am very protective of it. I realize it may not be the greatest story ever written, but it is mine and I don’t really like to hear bad things about it. But if it is never read by someone, what good is it? And if I never sent it to publishers or editors for them to read, it would never get published.

Now it has happened. I’m a published author. In the next few days people I have never met will be reading my book. It is overwhelming and exciting at the same time. I hope people enjoy my story, but I know that some won’t. That’s okay. I hope a lot of people buy my book, but if they don’t that’s okay too. My dream wasn’t to be rich, it was to be published, to get my story out there for people to read and hopefully they will be encouraged in some way or at the very least entertained.

I had my doubts that it would ever happen, but it did and it is pretty awesome. But it wouldn’t have happened if I hadn’t pursued my dream.

APromiseMadeLargeCover

Here it is. My book. ๐Ÿ™‚ It is available for pre-order from the publisher, and coming soon to online stores such as Amazon and Barnes & Noble. (http://www.tinyurl.com/crosslink-promise)ย 

 

About Norma Downing

Christian romance author Norma Downing has been writing for years. She writes both contemporary and historical. She currently has a contract with CrossLink Publishing for her first novel, A Promise Made, set in Kansas in 1899.
This entry was posted in dreams, new book, publishing, Quote, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dreams

  1. Great blog! ๐Ÿ™‚ Follow me back for book reviews, author interviews, beauty tips & articles on life, relationships, career & travel, plus my life in Ibiza ๐Ÿ˜€ http://www.sophiavalentine1.wordpress.com x

  2. daisyjerico says:

    Reblogged this on Daisy Jerico and commented:
    Me too! Finally happened. Isn’t it so exciting?

Leave a Reply

