“Love”– The Overused Word

I have been thinking about the word Love a lot lately. What does the word really mean?

The dictionary definition is something like: a profoundly tender, passionate affection for another person. A feeling of deep personal affection or attachment, such a parent for a child.

I can understand that definition. It makes sense. I love my husband and daughters. I have a deep personal attachment and affection for them. I have loved my husband for many years, and I have loved each daughter since before she was born.

I guess my thoughts are that people tend to over-use the word love. I am always hearing people say things such as the following:

“I love your sweater.” “I love my new car.” “I love this chicken recipe.” “I love your new hairstyle.” “I love that I have a three day weekend.” “I love going to the beach.” “I love Disney World.”

Seriously? Can someone have a deep personal affection for a sweater, car, chicken recipe, or Disney World? (Okay, with the exception of my oldest daughter “loving” Disney World. 😉 ) I don’t think so. I admit that you can like things a lot. But you don’t really love them in the way that I define love. Or maybe you do?

It even kind of annoys me when people say that I love my dog, or horse, or goat. NO. I DO NOT LOVE MY ANIMALS. I’m not saying that it is wrong to love your animals, and I know that some people say they do. I care about my animals and I like them a lot (at least some of them, most of the time). But to me, to say that I love them puts them on the same level as the people that I do truly love.

Maybe there are different kinds of love, you say? Yes, I would agree. But love is not a word that should be used lightly, in my opinion.

In the New Testament the word love is translated from several Greek words, and they all have different meanings. We need to be careful when reading the word love in Bible, that we know which Greek word is being translated. Words have meaning, use them carefully.

These are just some of my thoughts on the use of the word love. I personally try to use it carefully. I try to say like or enjoy and not over-use the word love.

What are your thoughts?

About Norma Downing

Christian romance author Norma Downing has been writing for years. She writes both contemporary and historical. She currently has a contract with CrossLink Publishing for her first novel, A Promise Made, set in Kansas in 1899.
This entry was posted in love, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

