Winter on the Mini Farm

Pretty much the whole country had really cold temperatures last week. It was 10 degrees here on Monday morning and 6 degrees on Tuesday morning.

Living on a “farm” you don’t have a choice about whether you will go outside or stay in where it is warm and toasty. Nope, just bundle up and get things done as fast as you can. I put on my long johns, jeans, long sleeve shirt, sweat shirt, two pairs of socks, “cold suit” (as we call it, it’s insulated overalls) and my coat, hat and gloves. Oh, also hand warmers in my boots, and another pair for my gloves.

Of course, I can’t hurry up and get things done. It takes twice as long to do things when it’s freezing cold and I have all these clothes on. I waddle my way out there to the animals and they are just acting like it is 70 degrees outside. The cold doesn’t bother them at all. The chickens had frost on their backs from roosting in the tree. The mini horse was just standing outside. Of course she has a very thick coat on for the winter. The goats didn’t care that it was cold, they just looked a little fluffier that usual.

I got everyone tied up. We tie the goats while I milk the one that is milking. I shut the barn door to try and keep what little bit of body heat in the barn. I had to take off my gloves to milk Hannah. I tried to warm my hands before I started but she still shifted around a little as if to say “whoa, couldn’t you keep those cold things off me?” My hands did get a little warmed up by the time I was done though. 🙂 Sorry, Hannah…not.

Of course all the water was frozen as well as the faucet on the outside of the house. That means that I had to take all the water buckets, and rabbit water bottles inside to thaw and then refill. After feeding everyone and letting the goats into the pasture I went inside to work on the water. It took a while but I finally got liquid water for everyone. That meant bundling back up and trekking outside with several buckets of water and the rabbit bottles.

And guess what? I would have to do this all again in the afternoon because the water would be frozen again with the high temperature being only 19 degrees. I’m not complaining though. I am very thankful that it doesn’t get super cold like that very often and on Wednesday morning when I went out it felt almost warm at a balmy 26 degrees. 🙂

About Norma Downing

Christian romance author Norma Downing has been writing for years. She writes both contemporary and historical. She currently has a contract with CrossLink Publishing for her first novel, A Promise Made, set in Kansas in 1899.
This entry was posted in chickens, farm, goat, goats, miniature horse and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

