Big or Mini?

130120_0000

Cooper seems to think she is a big horse. This is what happened the other day…

I put some old hay down on the floor of the goat’s barn. They don’t like to eat off of the ground and usually turn up their noses at anything that has touched the ground. Later that day I let the goats into the barn and, of course, the horse follows along. All of them promptly begin to eat the old hay. I was a little surprised that the goats would eat it but it didn’t surprise me that Cooper would. But she has her own little barn so she had to leave. I had taken off her halter a few days earlier, so I just kind of wrapped it around her neck and led her over to her barnyard. She went with no problem. I put up the lower strand of electric fence (which she normally respects) and turned back to go and get the goats food. The next thing I know, Cooper has jumped/walked through the fence and is back in the goat barn happily munching on old hay on the floor. I am slightly annoyed at this point because she has messed up the fence with her clumsy attempt to jump over and she is supposed to stay where I put her. I put her halter on rather roughly and started to pull her out of the goat barn. I was somewhat surprised when she starts to rear up, obviously not appreciating my leading or my not so gentle and annoyed attitude.

What did I do? I pulled her down and laughed. She’s only three feet tall. I think she forgets that sometimes. Silly horse.

About Norma Downing

Christian romance author Norma Downing has been writing for years. She writes both contemporary and historical. She currently has a contract with CrossLink Publishing for her first novel, A Promise Made, set in Kansas in 1899.
This entry was posted in farm, miniature horse and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

