It Was Worth It

My second daughter celebrated a birthday recently. She thanked me for all the hard work I did 24 years ago to make the day her birthday. I told her it was worth it.

That started me thinking about life. Specifically living life with an attitude of how it will all have been worth it in the end. That brought to mind this verse: “But as it is written, Eye hath not seen, nor ear heard, neither have entered into the heart of man, the things which God hath prepared for them that love him.” I Corinthians 2:9.

Enduring this life will not always be easy. We all face tough times, and even horrible times. But through it all, God is with me, because I believe that Jesus Christ went to the cross and paid the penalty for my sin. When I make it through this life, I will have eternity in heaven with God. For us mothers, after making it through all the uncomfortableness of pregnancy, and the pain of childbirth, we had that tiny miracle of a baby to hold in our arms and the previous months and hours were worth it. (Notice I didn’t say forgotten…but certainly worth it all šŸ™‚ ). That’s how I believe it will be when I finally get to heaven…all of this will fade away. It will be worth it.

That brings to mind a hymn.

“It will be worth it all when we see Jesus, Life’s trials will seem so small when we see Christ; one glimpse of His dear face all sorrow will erase, So bravely run the race till we see Christ.” (When We See Christ, by Esther Kerr Rusthoi)

This was encouraging to me. Especially to think that even through all of life Christ is with me. He is not just at the end of the race waiting for me. He is beside me every step of the way. If only I could remember that.

About Norma Downing

Christian romance author Norma Downing has been writing for years. She writes both contemporary and historical. She currently has a contract with CrossLink Publishing for her first novel, A Promise Made, set in Kansas in 1899.
This entry was posted in encouragement, thankful and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

