Romance

It’s February. What does that mean? There is still over a month of winter left. As I write this it is 34 degrees outside and it’s supposed to be in the teens by morning. Brr. I’m almost ready for spring. But February most likely brings to mind thoughts of Valentine’s Day.

I have never been a big fan of Valentine’s Day. Not that I really have a problem with it particularly. I just always thought it was a little strange that someone thought we need a special day set aside to let people know that we love them. I think you should let people know that every day if possible.

My husband isn’t big on Valentine’s Day either, which is fine with me. He is such a sweetie that he brings me flowers quite often. I think that makes them more special anyway. No one was pressuring him into buying me roses just because it was that certain day when it was expected. He obviously thinks of bringing me flowers on other days. That makes me happy.

Thinking of Valentine’s Day and being romantic, I am starting to think that wooing a woman is going out of style. Young men don’t try to woo young ladies as much as they used to in the past.

Men should be trying to make their special lady feel as if she really is special. Not just treat her like a pal or someone to hang out with. I think maybe it has to do with the way society has gone. Everyone is just too selfish to try and put someone before themselves. Most people are just in a relationship to see what they can get out of it.

Of course, young ladies shouldn’t expect special treatment necessarily, or that would make them selfish as well. There has to be a balance. I don’t have all the answers obviously. I don’t claim to know it all. It just make me sad to see one person putting all the effort into a relationship, and the other person just sitting back and taking what they can get.

I am very blessed to have the husband that I have and I wish that everyone could have this kind of relationship.

Happy February, everyone. Stay warm. Spring is just around the corner. 🙂

About Norma Downing

Christian romance author Norma Downing has been writing for years. She writes both contemporary and historical. She currently has a contract with CrossLink Publishing for her first novel, A Promise Made, set in Kansas in 1899.
This entry was posted in Valentine's Day and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

