Book Review: A Haven on Orchard Lane, by Lawana Blackwell

A haven on orchard lane

From the Back Cover
An urgent escape . . . a wounded heart . . .
Will Charlotte find the solace she longs for at the cottage on Orchard Lane?

Famed actress Charlotte Ward stepped away from the Victorian London stage five years ago. Now in desperate circumstances, she tries to restart her career–only to experience a complete collapse. Against her better judgment, Charlotte’s estranged daughter, Rosalind, comes to her mother’s rescue and moves her to a quiet English coastal village where her mother can evade the gossip columnists, at least for a time.

Charlotte is grateful to re-establish even tenuous family ties with Rosalind. As one with regrets over her own romantic past, she’s happy to see love blossom for her daughter. For Rosalind, however, it’s time away from teaching, and now she must care for the mother who wasn’t there for her. And what could possibly be more complicated than romance?

But there can be no permanent escape from the threats of recent months. As the privacy they seek is threatened, mother and daughter must make some difficult decisions–ones that jeopardize those they care about most.

Beloved Author Lawana Blackwell Returns With a Charming and Memorable Tale!

“Subtly smart wit and gentle wisdom grace each chapter in this long-anticipated novel from beloved author Blackwell. Under her talented pen, each word richly placed, the Victorian setting flourishes and the characters breathe with vibrant life…Well worth the wait, this story–the characters, the setting, the dialogue–reminds us why Blackwell’s voice was so deservedly missed.”–RT Book Reviews Top Pick

“A beautiful Victorian tale of hope and redemption. Charming, engaging characters and a small-town coziness result in a delightful novel that warms the heart. Fans of Julie Klassen, Jane Austen, and Kate Morton will be enthralled.”–Library Journal starred review

“Set in Victorian England, this novel is one that readers of Jane Austen and Julie Klassen will love. The theme of God’s provision runs throughout this sweet tale of love and forgiveness.”–CBA Retailers+Resources
About the Author
Lawana Blackwell has thirteen published novels to her credit, many of them set in the English countryside of the nineteenth century. She and her husband live in Frisco, Texas.

Historical fiction. One of my favorite genres. I guess I should say, when it is written “right”, meaning the way I like it.
Historical fiction can be written one of three ways. 1. Like a history lesson with a little fiction thrown in. 2. Heavy on the fiction with the only historical part being the setting. 3. A nice balance of history and well-written fiction.
This book is definitely in the third group. Lawana Blackwell brings her characters to life England in the 1880’s. I have read other books by Lawana Blackwell and have enjoyed them all.
I give this book a five out of five stars. If you are ready for an escape from this time and place, read it.
Bethany House Publishers provided this book to me for an honest review.

Advertisements

About Norma Downing

Christian romance author Norma Downing has been writing for years. She writes both contemporary and historical. She currently has a contract with CrossLink Publishing for her first novel, A Promise Made, set in Kansas in 1899.
This entry was posted in Bethany House Publishers, book review, Christian fiction, Lawana Blackwell and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s