Book Review: Cherished Mercy, by Tracie Peterson

From the Back Cover

As Oregon Territory teeters on the brink of armed conflict, one woman strives for peace.

Mercy Flanagan survived the Whitman Massacre as a child, and now her heart’s cry is for peace between the native peoples and the white settlers inhabiting Oregon Territory. Unfortunately, most of the settlers want the tribes removed from the land completely, one way or another.

At the request of family friend Eletta Browning, who is experiencing a difficult pregnancy, Mercy travels south to the Rogue River Valley to help. At the Browning Mission, she meets Eletta’s brother-in-law, Adam. Despite her attempts to befriend him, Adam seems determined to focus on ministering to the local tribes and keeps her at arm’s length. Why is he so intent on pushing her away?

When tragedy strikes and tensions in the territory reach the combustion point, Mercy is pushed to the limit of her strength. She and Adam will have to rely on their faith in God and on each other in order to make it out alive.

 

Biography

Tracie Peterson is the bestselling, award-winning author of more than one hundred books. Tracie also teaches writing workshops at a variety of conferences on subjects such as inspirational romance and historical research. She and her family live in Montana.
My thoughts:
I realize that book reviews are purely subjective. Honestly telling what you think of a book can depend on a great many things. In my I case I know that my mood can effect how much I like a book or not.
That being said, this was probably the most disappointing Tracie Peterson book I have ever read. Tracie Peterson is by far one of my favorite authors, but this time I just didn’t like the book.
This is the third book is the series “Heart of the Frontier”. I read the second book, but not the first.
I thought this book lacked a depth of story that I usually find in Tracie’s books. This time the characters were shallow and predictable. But what bothered me the most about the book was the political correctness of the “evil white man” and the “innocent” Indians. I’m not going to get into the discussion of that part of our country’s history, but I will say that there was fault on both sides, both sides were “evil” to some degree.
Maybe that element of the story shouldn’t have bothered me so much and I should have just enjoyed the story of Mercy and Adam, but as I said earlier, my thoughts are subjective and I couldn’t find that much that I really enjoyed.
It is difficult to say but I give this book a two out of five stars.
Bethany House provided me with a copy of the book in exchange for an honest review.
About Norma Downing

Christian romance author Norma Downing has been writing for years. She writes both contemporary and historical. She currently has a contract with CrossLink Publishing for her first novel, A Promise Made, set in Kansas in 1899.
This entry was posted in Bethany House Publishers, book review, Christian fiction, Tracie Peterson, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

